Leopoldina Home Menü

Leopoldina Home



The Leopoldina’s Senate represents the interests of the Academy’s members before the Presidium and advises the Presidium. It currently has 40 members, 28 of whom are elected spokespersons, each representing one of the sections of the Academy. In addition, there are two elected members who represent the Academy’s members in Austria and Switzerland, respectively. Members of the Senate are elected for a term of four years and can be re-elected once.

The Senate generally convenes once a year. During these meetings, the Senate, in accordance with the statutes, elects members of the Presidium and honorary members, checks the Presidium’s annual reports and approves its actions, appoints auditors and decides on the expulsion of members. In addition, the Senate approves regulations governing the election of Academy members, spokespersons and regional representatives, members of the Senate and their deputies, and members of the Presidium, as well as structural regulations for the sections and adjunct territories.

No. Sections Elected Senators (Academy Members) Deputy Senators and Senators  
1 Mathematics Prof. Dr. Friedrich Götze, Bielefeld Prof. Dr. Annette Huber-Klawitter, Freiburg  
2 Informatics Prof. Dr. Gerhard Fettweis, Dresden Prof. Dr. Klaus‐Robert Müller, Berlin  
3 Physics Prof. Dr. Eberhard Bodenschatz, Göttingen Prof. Dr. Elisabeth Giacobino, Paris (Frankreich)  
4 Chemistry Prof. Dr. Peter R. Schreiner, Gießen Prof. Dr. Stefanie Dehnen, Karlsruhe  
5 Earth Sciences Prof. Dr. Manfred R. Strecker, Potsdam Prof. Dr. Ulrich Platt, Heidelberg  
6 Agricultural and Nutritional Sciences Prof. Dr. Bertram Brenig, Göttingen Prof. Dr. Andreas Graner, Gatersleben  
7 Global Health Prof. Dr. Lothar H. Wieler, Potsdam Prof. Dr. Rudolf Guthoff, Rostock  
8 Organismic and Evolutionary Biology Prof. Dr. Hermann Wagner, Aachen Prof. Dr. Susanne Renner, Saint Louis (USA)  
9 Genetics/Molecular Biology and Cell Biology Prof. Dr. Nikolaus Amrhein, Zürich Prof. Dr. Regine Kahmann, Marburg  
10 Biochemistry and Biophysics Prof. Dr. Johannes Buchner, München Prof. Dr. Irmgard Sinning, Heidelberg  
11 Anatomy and Anthropology Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Kummer, Gießen Prof. Dr. Thomas Deller, Frankfurt  
12 Pathology and Forensic Medicine Prof. Dr. Hans Kreipe, Hannover Prof. Dr. Heidi Pfeiffer, Münster  
13 Microbiology and Immunology Prof. Dr. Axel Brakhage, Jena Prof. Dr. Christian Kurts, Bonn  
14 Human Genetics and Molecular Medicine Prof. Dr. Oliver Brüstle, Bonn Prof. Dr. Markus M. Nöthen, Bonn  
15 Physiology and Pharmacology/Toxicology Prof. Dr. Stefan Offermanns, Bad Nauheim Prof. Dr. Ingrid Fleming, Frankfurt  
16 Internal Medicine and Dermatology Prof. Dr. Norbert Suttorp, Berlin Prof. Dr. Jan C. Simon, Leipzig  
17 Surgery, Orthopaedics, Anaesthesiology Prof. Dr. Jens Scholz, Kiel Prof. Dr. Brigitte Vollmar, Rostock  
18 Gynaecology and Paediatrics Prof. Dr. Matthias Beckmann, Erlangen Prof. Dr. Charlotte Niemeyer, Freiburg  
19 Neurosciences Prof. Dr. Ulf Eysel, Bochum Prof. Dr. Katharina Domschke, Freiburg  
20 Ophthalmology, Oto-Rhino-Laryngology and Stomatology Prof. Dr. Ursula Schlötzer-Schrehardt, Erlangen Prof. Dr. Werner Geurtsen, Hannover  
21 Radiology Prof. Dr. Anca-Ligia Grosu, Freiburg Prof. Dr. Maximilian Reiser, Munich  
22 Veterinary Medicine Prof. Dr. Thomas C. Mettenleiter, Insel Riems Prof. Dr. Heidrun Potschka, München  
23 History of Science and Medicine Prof. Dr. Christina Brandt, Jena Prof. Dr. Heiner Fangerau, Düsseldorf  
24 Philosophy of Science Prof. Dr. Julian Reiss, Linz Prof. Dr. Urban Wiesing, Tübingen  
25 Economics and Empirical Social Sciences Prof. Dr. Klaus F. Zimmermann, Bonn Prof. Dr. Bettina Rockenbach, Köln  
26 Psychology and Cognitive Sciences Prof. Dr. Bernhard Hommel, Dresden Prof. Dr. Alexandra M. Freund, Zürich  
27 Engineering Sciences Prof. Dr. Dierk Raabe, Düsseldorf Prof. Dr. Marion Merklein, Erlangen  
28 Cultural Sciences Prof. Dr. Andreas Kablitz, Köln Prof. Dr. Christine Windbichler, Berlin  

Senators of the adjunct territories Austria and Switzerland

The appointment of Honorary Senator honours outstanding personalities who have promoted the Academy to a special degree.

Honorary Senator

  •     Prof. Dr. Andreas Barner, Ingelheim

Besides the senators elected by the sections and districts, the statutes allow for the Senate to include up to ten additional members, who do not necessarily have to be members of the Academy.   Five of these ten additional members are elected ad personam; they are generally selected from the ranks of those holding senior positions in research organisations or other scientific institutions. The other five additional members are elected ex officio; these are the presidents of five major German scientific and academic organisations: the German Research Foundation, the Max Planck Society, the German Rectors’ Conference (HRK), the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, and the Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Humanities.

Honorary Members of the Senate

  • Dr. jur. Nikolaus von Bomhard, Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats der Münchener Rückversicherungs-Gesellschaft
  • Dr. Georg Schütte, Generalsekretär der VolkswagenStiftung, Hannover
  • Prof. Dr. Ursula Gather, Vorsitzende des Kuratoriums der Alfried Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach-Stiftung
  • Prof. Dr. Renate Köcher, Geschäftsführerin des Instituts für Demoskopie Allensbach
  • Prof. Dr. Birgitta Wolff, Rektorin der Bergischen Universität Wuppertal

Presidents of research organisations or research funding institutions

  • German Research Foundation, Prof. Dr. Katja Becker ML, Bonn
  • Max Planck Society, Prof. Dr. Patrick Cramer ML, München
  • Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Prof. Dr. Robert Schlögl ML, Berlin
  • German Rectors’ Conference, Prof. Dr. Walter Rosenthal ML, Berlin
  • Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Humanities, Prof. Dr. Christoph Markschies, Berlin




Dr. Jörg Beineke

Senior Scientific Coordinator

Phone 0345 47 239 - 954
Fax 0345 47 239 - 919
E-Mail joerg.beineke (at)leopoldina.org